Weekend Favorites

Cruella

Craig Gillespie
Fri, 09/03/2021 - 9:30pm
Sat, 09/04/2021 - 9:15pm

Zola

Janicza Bravo
Thu, 09/23/2021 - 9:45pm
Sun, 09/26/2021 - 9:15pm

The Green Knight

David Lowery
Thu, 10/14/2021 - 9:50pm
Sat, 10/16/2021 - 9:30pm
Sun, 10/17/2021 - 7:00pm

Black Widow

Cate Shortland
Fri, 10/22/2021 - 9:15pm
Sat, 10/23/2021 - 9:15pm

Cryptozoo

Dash Shaw
Thu, 10/28/2021 - 9:45pm
Fri, 10/29/2021 - 9:20pm

Annette

Leos Carax
Fri, 11/12/2021 - 9:40pm
Sun, 11/14/2021 - 7:15pm

image from the film SUMMER OF SOUL

B.B. King performing at the Harlem Cultural Festival in 1969, from Questlove's documentary SUMMER OF SOUL

In addition to all the other films Cornell Cinema offers, you can count on the organization to provide a recent Hollywood hit or other popular title every weekend during the school year. This Fall’s schedule features Disney hits like Cruella and Black Widow, starring Emma Stone and Scarlett Johansson, respectively; John Krasinki’s “silent” thriller, A Quiet Place Part II; Shaka King’s Judas and the Black Messiah, starring Daniel Kaluuya and LaKeith Stanfield; David Lowery’s medieval hit The Green Knight, starring Dev Patel; and In the Heights, adapted from the first Broadway show with music and lyrics by “Hamilton” superstar Lin Manuel Miranda.

But in addition to these recent blockbusters, you’ll find cult classics like Hayao Miyazaki’s debut feature, Lupin the 3rd: The Castle of Cagliostro and Edgar Wright’s Shaun of the Dead (for Halloween, of course), and new alternative work like Questlove’s Summer of Soul, Janicza Bravo’s Zola, Dash Shaw’s animated Cryptozoo, Leos Carax’s Annette, and the always-popular compilation: Sundance Shorts 2021.

Even if you’ve already seen the latest Marvel blockbuster at the mall, it’s entirely different to experience the film surrounded by your college friends. Repeat viewings are easy on your budget too, especially with Cornell Cinema’s All-Access Pass, so there’s no reason to sit at home when big screen fun awaits. See you this weekend, and every weekend, at Cornell Cinema!

This Fall’s Weekend Favorites are cosponsored by Class Councils.