Contemporary World Cinema

Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy (on demand Jan 26–Feb 6)

Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Wed, 01/26/2022 - 12:00am
Thu, 01/27/2022 - 12:00am
Fri, 01/28/2022 - 12:00am
Sat, 01/29/2022 - 12:00am
Sun, 01/30/2022 - 12:00am
Mon, 01/31/2022 - 12:00am
Tue, 02/01/2022 - 12:00am
Wed, 02/02/2022 - 12:00am
Thu, 02/03/2022 - 12:00am
Fri, 02/04/2022 - 12:00am
Sat, 02/05/2022 - 12:00am
Sun, 02/06/2022 - 12:00am

Azor

Andreas Fontana
Fri, 02/25/2022 - 7:00pm
Sat, 02/26/2022 - 9:15pm

Great Freedom

Sebastian Meise
Thu, 03/17/2022 - 7:00pm
Sun, 03/20/2022 - 4:30pm

Neighbours

Mano Khalil
Thu, 03/31/2022 - 9:00pm
Fri, 04/01/2022 - 7:00pm

Pebbles

P.S. Vinothraj
Sat, 04/16/2022 - 7:00pm
Sun, 04/17/2022 - 7:00pm

Drive My Car

Ryusuke Hamaguchi
Fri, 04/29/2022 - 7:15pm
Mon, 05/02/2022 - 7:15pm

image from the film PEBBLES

image from the film PEBBLES

Cornell Cinema regularly premieres award-winning international films that otherwise wouldn’t screen in Ithaca, and this Spring we offer seven Ithaca premieres (in addition to films in our Francophone and Sub-Saharan Africa series) set in Japan (The Wheel of Fantasy and Fortune—a melancholic triptych by the director of Drive My Car), a thriller set in Argentina during the dirty war (Azor); a story of queerness and prison over three decades set in Germany (Great Freedom);  and films set in 1980s Romania (Uppercase Print), as well as modern Syria (Neighbours) and India (Pebbles). 

All of the films have appeared on Best of 2021 lists by film critics, and Great Freedom is one of fifteen titles shortlisted for Best International Feature Oscar.