Shorts! Animation & Oscar Shorts

The 21st Annual Animation Show of Shows

various
Fri, 02/05/2021 (All day)
Sat, 02/06/2021 (All day)
Sun, 02/07/2021 (All day)
Mon, 02/08/2021 (All day)
Tue, 02/09/2021 (All day)
Wed, 02/10/2021 (All day)
Thu, 02/11/2021 (All day)
Fri, 02/12/2021 (All day)
Sat, 02/13/2021 (All day)
Sun, 02/14/2021 (All day)
Mon, 02/15/2021 (All day)
Tue, 02/16/2021 (All day)
Wed, 02/17/2021 (All day)
Thu, 02/18/2021 (All day)
Fri, 02/19/2021 (All day)
Sat, 02/20/2021 (All day)
Sun, 02/21/2021 (All day)
Mon, 02/22/2021 (All day)
Tue, 02/23/2021 (All day)
Wed, 02/24/2021 (All day)
Thu, 02/25/2021 (All day)

image from the 21st Animation Show of Shows [The Fox and the Bird]

image from The 21st Animation Show of Shows [The Fox and the Bird]

Ideally suited to streaming in the age of COVID, when our attention spans may be challenged, the short film format offers small servings, that if not to your liking, will soon enough be replaced by another dish!  But we have no doubt you’ll find plenty to your taste in the most recent edition (21st) of the always popular Annual Animation Show of Shows! A curated selection of the “best of the best” animated short films created by students and professionals around the world, this program features ten films from seven countries, offering an array of highly imaginative, thought-provoking, and moving works that reflect the filmmakers' unique perspectives and their relationship to the world. (Please note: this program was scheduled to be shown at Cornell Cinema in March 2020, but had to be canceled due to the pandemic shutdown.)

In addition to this program, Cornell Cinema also hopes to add the Oscars Shorts programs, the annual showcase of short films nominated for Academy Awards (Animation, Documentary & Live Action). Dates for these programs will likely be in April, leading up to the Academy Awards ceremony, scheduled for Sunday, April 25.