CNYPG Guests

Central New York Programmers’ Group (CNYPG): 1989–2010

The Central New York Programmers Group (CNYPG) was a consortium of programmers, teachers and media makers in New York State, funded by a grant from the Electronic Media & Film Program of the New York State Council on the Arts and administered by Cornell Cinema.

The primary activity of the coordinator of the consortium, hired by Cornell Cinema, was to organize three to four media artist tours per year among member sites, and use grant funding to subsidize the cost of the tours. Guests typically visited five to seven sites in the region over the course of a week to ten days, which made the arrangement beneficial for both artists and the venues, some of which would not have been able to afford to host on their own.

Regular CNYPG tour sites were Colgate University, Cornell Cinema, Crandall Public Library, George Eastman House, Hallwalls Contemporary Arts Center, Hamilton College, Ithaca College, Rochester Institute of Technology, SUNY Binghamton and Syracuse University. Other sites included Bard College, Everson Museum of Art, Glens Falls Public Library, Hobart-William Smith Colleges, Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute, Squeaky Wheel film & Media Art Center, St. John Fisher College, St. Lawrence University, SUNY Buffalo, SUNY Potsdam, Time & Space Limited, Upper Catskills Community Council on the Arts, Vassar College and Visual Studies Workshop.

CNYPG Guests

  • Craig Baldwin
  • Irit Batsry
  • James Benning
  • Alan Berliner
  • Stephanie Black
  • Shu Lea Cheang
  • Jem Cohen
  • Ximena Cuevas
  • Kirby Dick
  • Peter Forgacs
  • Su Friedrich
  • Janie Geiser
  • Amos Gitai
  • DeeDee Halleck
  • Leonard Retel Helmrich
  • Mark Hosler
  • Steve James
  • Larry Jordan
  • Miranda July
  • Karl Kels
  • Lewis Klahr
  • Ulrike Koch
  • Mark Lapore
  • Sharon Lockhart
  • Dusan Makavejev
  • Matt McCormick
  • William Moritz (film scholar)
  • Bill Morrison
  • Alanis Obomsawin
  • Ngozi Onwurah
  • Pratibha Parmar
  • D.A. Pennebaker
  • Leighton Pierce
  • Lourdes Portillo
  • Daniel Reeves
  • Jennifer Reeves
  • Alex Rivera
  • Greta Snider
  • Phil Soloman
  • Chris Sullivan
  • Kidlat Tahimik
  • Leslie Thornton
  • Naomi Uman
  • Steina Vasulka