Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy (on demand Jan 26–Feb 6)

Director

Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Showtimes

Wed, 01/26/2022 - 12:00am
Thu, 01/27/2022 - 12:00am
Fri, 01/28/2022 - 12:00am
Sat, 01/29/2022 - 12:00am
Sun, 01/30/2022 - 12:00am
Mon, 01/31/2022 - 12:00am
Tue, 02/01/2022 - 12:00am
Wed, 02/02/2022 - 12:00am
Thu, 02/03/2022 - 12:00am
Fri, 02/04/2022 - 12:00am
Sat, 02/05/2022 - 12:00am
Sun, 02/06/2022 - 12:00am

Cast

Kotone Furukawa, Ayumu Nakajima, Hyunri

Special Notes

FREE to Spring 2022 All Access Pass holders!

$6 Virtual Cinema ticket


Tickets

Get your ticket in advance!


Release year/country

2021 Japan

Format

DCP

Runtime

2 hrs 1 min

Series


FREE to Spring 2022 All Access Pass holders!
$6 ($4.50 + $1.50 fee) to all single ticket purchasers.

image from the film WHEEL OF FORTUNE AND FANTASY

Hamaguchi (Drive My Car) spins three tales of chance meetings and the mysteries of desire: an unexpected love triangle, a failed seduction and an encounter with the past. “The geometry of desire is elegantly plotted in Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy, a wistful, moving, outwardly unassuming movie. [It] is a perfect entry point into Hamaguchi’s work. [B]oth times I watched this movie, I found something to admire, consider, argue with and weep over.” (Manohla Dargis, NY Times

“Full of understated, melancholy poetry. Hamaguchi’s intimate snapshots of middle-class angst are unusually humane by the standards of modern cinema, frequently invoking Eric Rohmer’s warmly indulgent depictions of Parisian bourgeois ennui. Emotionally authentic and consistently absorbing.” (The Hollywood Reporter)

more info at this website: www.filmmovement.com/wheel-of-fortune-and-fantasy

Ithaca Premiere
Subtitled

Trailer