special guests spring 2017

films screen in the Willard Straight Theatre, unless otherwise noted

CU professor Louis Hyman (ILR)
introduces It starring Clara Bow
Tues Feb 28 @ 7:00
CU professor Louis Hyman (ILR)
introduces Gold Diggers of 1933
Tues Feb 28 @ 8:30
Society for Humanities Fellow Gemma Angel (Institute of Advanced Studies, University College London)
introduces The Skin I Live In
Wed Mar 1 at 7:00
Master of purremonies Leah Shafer ’94/’99/’08 (Media and Society, Hobart & William Smith Colleges)
hosts the CatVideoFest
Fri Mar 3 @ 7:00 • Sat Mar 4 @ 2:00
Advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
Associate Director of the CU Feline Health Center, Bruce Kornreich
hosts “Name that Kitty Tune” at the CatVideoFest
Fri Mar 3 @ 7:00
CU professor Nava Scharf (NES)
introduces A Tale of Love and Darkness
Tues Mar 7 @ 7:00
CU professor Alexander Livingston (Government)
introduces Gabriel Over the White House
Wed Mar 8 at 7:00
CU professor Iago Gocheleishvili (NES)
introduces About Elly
Tues Mar 14 @ 7:00
CU professor Naminata Diabate (Comparative Literature)
introduces Chocolat
Wed Mar 15 at 7:00
CU professor Deborah Starr (NES)
introduces The Idol
Tues Mar 21 @ 7:00
Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow Erik Born (German Studies)
introduces Under the Skin
Wed Mar 22 at 7:00
CU professor Lizz Huntley (NES)
introduces As I Open My Eyes
Tues Mar 28 @ 7:00
Artist Rosamond Purcell in person
appears with An Art That Nature Makes
Thur Mar 30 @ 7:00 (schedule permitting)
Coupler
performs their live original score to Our Heavenly Bodies
Tues Apr 11 @ 7:30 in SAGE CHAPEL*
*Special prices: CornellCinemaTickets.com
CU professor Timothy Murray (Director, Society for the Humanities)
introduces Whit Stillman’s The Pillow Book
Wed Apr 12 at 7:00
CU professor Louis Hyman (ILR)
introduces Whit Stillman’s Metropolitan
Tues Apr 18 @ 7:00
Filmmakers Jakob Brossman and Stefania Schenck Vitale
present Lampedusa in Winter
Wed Apr 19 @ 7:00 (free)
DJ Marco Collins and producers, Tiffany Naiman & Michelle Quisneberry
present The Glamour & The Squalor
Fri Apr 21 @ 7:00
CU professor Samantha Sheppard (PMA)
introduces Daughters of the Dust
Sat Apr 22 @ 1:00
Ken & Flo Jacobs
present their Nervous Magic Lantern Performance with live music by CAGE (Cornell Avant Garde Ensemble)
Tues Apr 25 @ 7:30*
*Special prices: CornellCinemaTickets.com
Producer Amy Ziering
presents The Hunting Ground
Thur Apr 27 @ 7:00 (free)

seen previously

Jeff Cohen, Director of the Park Center for Independent Media at IC
introduces (followed by a Q&A) All Governments Lie
Tues Jan 31 @ 7:00
Cornell professor Wayles Browne (Linguistics)
introduces Command and Control
Tues Feb 7 @ 7:00 (FREE)
CU professors Kevin Gaines (ASRC), Russell Rickford (History), Samantha Sheppard (PMA) & Dagmawi Woubshet (English)
participate in a post-screening panel discussion of I Am Not Your Negro
Wed Feb 8 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Michael Levine & Lower East Side historian Elissa Sampson
present Streit’s Matzo and the American Dream
Mon Feb 13 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Hugo Genes ’10
presents Collegetown
Wed Feb 15 @ 5:00
Producer Scott Ferguson ’82 (via Skype)
holds a Q&A following the first two episodes from HBO’s The Night Of
Fri Feb 17 @ 5:00 (FREE)
followed by a reception @ 7:30
Producer Scott Ferguson ’82 (via Skype)
introduces All The Way at 7:20
Fri Feb 17 @ 8:00 (FREE)
followed by a reception at 7:30
Dr. Philip Carli
provides live piano accompaniment for Ernst Lubitsch’s So This is Paris during Cornell Cinema’s Elegant Winter Party
Sat Feb 25 @ 7:15*
*Special prices: CornellCinemaTickets.com
food, beverages, door prizes