special guests spring 2016

films screen in Willard Straight Theatre, unless otherwise noted

Musicians Alicia Svigals & Marilyn Lerner
perform their original score to The Yellow Ticket
Thur Apr 7 @ 7:30 • Sage Chapel (free)
Scientists Bill Evans and Andrew Farnsworth
appear for a post-screening discussion of The Messenger, followed by a reception hosted by the Cayuga Bird Club
Fri Apr 10 @ 4:30 ($5.50 all)
Director and visiting film professor Silas Howard (PMA)
joins us via Skype for An Evening with Silas Howard which includes an episode from Transparent (Season 2) and highlights from his current directing gigs on the groundbreaking show
Tues Apr 12 @ 7:00 (free)
Director Erin Espelie ’01
presents The Lanthanide Series
Wed Apr 20 @ 7:00
Director Don Freeman
presents his documentary, Art House
Wed May 4 @ 7:00

seen previously

Cornell’s BreakFree Hip Hop
performs live with Straight Outta Compton
Sun Jan 31 @ 7:00
Mistress of Ceremonies Leah Shafer ’94/ ’99/ ’08
hosts the Internet Cat Video Festival
Fri Feb 26 @ 7:00
Dr. Christopher Clark (Lab of Ornithology) & Deb Cipolla-Dennis (Bioacoustics Research Program)
discuss Racing Extinction
Mon Feb 29 @ 7:00 (FREE)
Editor Kathryn Schubert ’05
presents Experimenter
Fri Mar 4 @ 7:00
Editor Kathryn Schubert ’05, producer Deborah Hoard ’78, Cornell Cinema director Mary Fessenden & others
participate in The President’s Council of Cornell Women Film Panel
Sat Mar 5 @ 1:30 (FREE)
Cornell alum and award-winning actress Adepero Oduye ’99 (Pariah, 12 Years a Slave, The Big Short)
introduces The Big Short
Sat Mar 5 @ 9:20
Director Madsen Minax
presents Riot Acts
Mon Mar 7 @ 7:00 (free)
CU professors Muna Ndulo (Law) & Wendy Wolford (Development Sociology)
discuss We Come As Friends
Mon Mar 14 @ 7:00 (free)
Editor Rachel Reichman in person (with director Kent Jones via Skype)
introduces Hitchcock/Truffaut and participates in a post-screening Q&A. Director Kent Jones (Director of the New York Film Festival) will join via Skype for the post-screening discussion.
Wed Mar 16 @ 7:00
Anna Coogan & Tzar (Michael Stark and Brian Wilson)
perform their original score to Aelita: Queen of Mars
Thur Mar 24 @ 7:15
$11 general ($15 at door) • $9 students & seniors ($13 at door) • advance tkts: CornellCinemaTickets.com