special guests spring 2015

films screen in the Willard Straight Theatre, unless otherwise noted

Zillah Eisenstein
introduces The Way We Were
Sun Apr 19 @ 7:00
Eisenstein is the daughter of Fanny Price, the woman upon whom Arthur Laurents ’37 based Katie Morosky (played by Barbra Streisand).
Filmmaker Doug Block ’75
presents 112 Weddings
Mon Apr 20 @ 7:00
Annie Lewandowski (Dept of Music), aka Powerdove solo
performs live with Departures: 2 Films by Gunvor Nelson
Tues Apr 21 @ 8:00 • Sage Chapel (free)
Filmmaker Martín Rejtman
presents Two Shots Fired
Thur Apr 23 @ 6:45
Assoc. Prof. Sabine Haenni (PMA, American Studies)
introduces Persepolis
Mon Apr 27 @ 7:00

seen previously

Prof Cathy Crane (Media Arts, Sciences and Studies, Ithaca College)
presents Images of the World and the Inscription of War
Tues Jan 27 @ 7:00
Assoc. Prof. Sabine Haenni (PMA, American Studies)
introduces Dirty Pretty Things
Mon Feb 2 @ 7:00
Mary Lorson and an 8-piece jazz band
perform live music with her new work Signals: A Performance Memoir
Fri Feb 20 @ 7:00
tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
Assoc. Prof. Sabine Haenni (PMA, American Studies)
introduces Ararat
Mon Feb 23 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Amie Siegel
presents Black Moon / Winter
Thur Feb 26 @ 4:45 (free)
Filmmaker Amie Siegel
presents DDR/DDR (discussion moderated by Scott MacDonald)
Thur Feb 26 @ 7:15
Filmmaker Amie Siegel
presents The Architects (discussion moderated by Prof Caroline O’Donnell, Architecture)
Fri Feb 27 @ 4:45 (Free)
Filmmaker Amie Siegel
presents her latest film Provenance
Fri Feb 27 @ 7:00 (free*)
*We recommend you pick up (free) tickets from Willard Straight Resource Center in advance; but tickets should also be available at the door.
Sr. Lecturer Byron Suber (Performing & Media Arts)
introduces Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb vs. Gravity
Thur Mar 5 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Wang Wo
presents Outside
Wed Mar 11 @ 7:00
Cornell alum Leah Shafer ’94/’99/’08 (Media and Society, Hobart and William Smith Colleges)
introduces the Internet Cat Video Film Festival
Fri Mar 13 @ 7:00
Assoc. Prof. Sabine Haenni (PMA, American Studies)
introduces The Edge of Heaven
Mon Mar 23 @ 7:00
Filmmakers Tina Mascara & Guido Santi (via Skype)
discuss Monk with a Camera
Thur Mar 26
Filmmaker J.P. Sniadecki
presents The Iron Ministry
Wed Apr 8 @ 7:00
The post-screening discussion with J.P. Sniadecki will be facilitated by Dr. Andrew Utterson, Assistant Professor of Screen Studies in the Roy H. Park School of Communications at Ithaca College and a Regional Visiting Fellow in the Cornell Institute for European Studies (CIES).
Filmmaker Ben Russell
presents Let Each One Go Where He May
Wed Apr 15 @ 7:00