special guests spring 2013

films screen in the Willard Straight Theatre, unless otherwise noted

Collage artist and animator Lewis Klahr
presents an evening of his work
Thur Mar 7 @ 7:00
Writer/producer Adam Schomer ’97
presents The Highest Pass
Sat Mar 9 @ 7:00
Oscar-nominated editor Tim Squyres ’81
presents Life of Pi
Sun Mar 10 @ 7:15
Co-director/writer & grad student Elizabeth Wijaya & co-director/writer Weijie Lai
present a free screening of their film, I Have Loved
Tues Mar 12 @ 7:15
Dan Smalls Presents and Cornell Cinema
present Solas in Concert
Wed Mar 13 @ 8:00 (doors open @ 7)
Brían Hanrahan (Postdoc Fellow in Performing & Media Arts)
introduces Barbara
Thur Mar 14 @ 7:00
Filmmaker & Cornell professor J.P. Sniadecki (Performing & Media Arts)
presents Foreign Parts
Tues Mar 26 @ 7:15 (free)
Filmmaker & Ithaca College professor Cathy Crane
presents Pasolini’s Last Words
Wed Mar 27 @ 7:15
Filmmaker Jeff Ruoff ’85
presents Still Moving: Pilobolus at Forty
Thur Mar 28 @ 7:00
Experimental filmmaker Michael Robinson
presents Circle in the Sand
Fri Mar 29 @ 7:00
(POSTPONED) Experimental filmmaker Josh Bonnetta
presents Strange Lines & Distances with live sound accompaniment
(POSTPONED to Fall 2013, date tba) • originally scheduled for Fri Mar 29 @ 9:00
Experimental filmmaker Phil Solomon
presents American Falls and two shorts
Mon Apr 1 @ 7:15
Animator Chris Sullivan
presents Consuming Spirits
Thur Apr 4 @ 7:00
National Geographic photographer James Balog
presents Chasing Ice
Mon Apr 8 @ 7:30 (free)
Professors Jane Fajans and Terry Turner (both from the Department of Anthropology)
introduce Dead Birds
Thur Apr 11 @ 7:00
Brenda J. Marston, Curator, Cornell Human Sexuality Collection
introduces How to Survive a Plague
Thur Apr 18 @ 7:00
Panel Discussion with Prof. Julilly Kohler-Hausmann (History); Carol Boyce Davies (Ujamaa Faculty Fellow who teaches 'Reading the New Jim Crow') & John Crutchfield (former inmate)
The House I Live In
Mon Apr 22 @ 7:30 • FREE

previously seen

Ellen Avril, curator of Asian Art, Johnson Museum
introduces Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry
Fri Feb 1 @ 9:15 • Cinemapolis
Tues Feb 5 @ 7:15 • Schwartz Center Film Forum
Panel discussion
following Side by Side: The Science, Art & Impact of Digital Cinema
Thur Feb 7 @ 7:00
Dr. Christine Leuenberger (Science and Technology Studies)
introduces The Waiting Room
Fri Feb 8 @ 7:00
Silent Film scholar/accompanist Dr. Philip Carli
accompanies The Phantom of the Opera on the Sage Chapel organ
Tues Feb 19 @ 7:30 (free) • Sage Chapel