special guests fall 2017

films screen in the Willard Straight Theatre, unless otherwise noted
Representatives from the Cornell Cinema Student Advisory Board
present an Orientation to Cornell Cinema followed by a Movie Poster Sale
Mon Aug 21 @ 7:00 (FREE TO ALL) • Movie Poster Sale starts @ 8:45
Students from the Cornell Environmental Collaborative
speak in conjunction with the environmental film Tomorrow
Wed Aug 23 @ 7:00 (FREE TO NEW STUDENTS w/ID)
CU professor Jonathan Kirshner
introduces Jean-Pierre Melville’s Le Samourai starring Alain Delon
Thur Aug 24 @ 7:00 (FREE TO NEW STUDENTS w/ID)
Producer Weijie Lai
presents Pop Aye
Wed Sept 6 @ 7:00
TBA
introduces Letters from Baghdad
Thur Sept 7 @ 7:00
CU Provost’s Visiting Professor (and Monty Python alum) John Cleese
along with Professor Jonathan Kirshner
hold a pre-film conversation about A Fish Called Wanda
Sun Sept 10 @ 7:00
advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
The Filmharmonia Duo (Michael Tsalka and Dennis James)
perform their live score to Hamlet (1921) starring Asta Nielson
Thur Sept 14 @ 8:00* in Sage Chapel (FREE)
*a pre-screening lecture about the making of the score will be held at 7:15pm
Writer/Director Katherine Dieckmann
presents Strange Weather starring Holly Hunter
Thur Sept 21 @ 7:00
Writer/Director Matias Piñeiro
presents Hermia and Helena
Tues Sept 26 @ 7:00
Professor Mary Woods (Architecture, CU) on Sept 27
introduces Citizen Jane: Battle for the City
Wed Sept 27 @ 7:00
CU Institute for European Studies Regional Visiting Fellow & IC Professor Andrew Utterson (Cinema Studies)
introduces Godard’s Goodbye to Language (3D)
Wed Oct 4 @ 7:00
The Invincible Czars
perform their live score with the early horror silent Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde starring John Barrymore
Thur Oct 12 @ 7:30 ($10 general / $8 students & seniors)
Advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
Filmmaker Yosep Anggi Noen, producer Yulia Evina Bhara, and actress Marissa Anita
appear with Solo, Solitude via Skype
Mon Oct 16 @ 7:00 (FREE)
Filmmakers Tomonari Nishikawa & Daïchï Saïto
present Elective Affinities a collection of short experimental films
Tues Oct 17 @ 7:15
TBA
introduces City of Ghosts
Wed Oct 18 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Avijit Mukul Kishore & architect Rohan Shivkumar
present Nostalgia for the Future
Tues Oct 24 @ 7:15 (FREE)
The Philip Glass Ensemble
perform the Philip Glass soundtrack with the visionary movie Koyaanisqatsi Live!
Fri Nov 3 @ 7:30 @ Bailey Hall
Advance tickets $18 general/$12 students (Available at BaileyTickets.com starting mid-August).
Ticket prices at the door will be $24 general/$18 students / Co-presenter: The Atkinson Forum in American Studies
Screenwriter Kong Rithdee
presents The Island Funeral
Sat Nov 4 @ 4:00 (FREE)
Filmmaker Tim Slade
presents his documentary The Destruction of Memory
Wed Nov 15 @ 7:15
CU Institute for European Studies Regional Visiting Fellow & IC Professor Saviana Condeescu (Theatre Arts)
introduces Graduation by Romanian director Cristian Mungiu
Thur Nov 16 @ 7:00