special guests fall 2016

films screen in the Willard Straight Theatre, unless otherwise noted

Filmmaker Gustav Deutsch & Art Director Hanna Schimek
present Shirley: Visions of Reality
Wed Nov 2 @ 7:00
The Alloy Orchestra
perform their new score for the French silent avant-garde classic L’Inhumaine
Thur Nov 3 @ 7:00
$12/$10 students & seniors—advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
The Alloy Orchestra
perform their new score for E.A. Dupont’s Weimar silent classic Varieté
Fri Nov 4 @ 7:00
$12/$10 students & seniors—advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
The Alloy Orchestra
perform their score for a new digital restoration of Vertov’s iconic Soviet silent Man with a Movie Camera
Fri Nov 4 @ 9:15
$12/$10 students & seniors—advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
PuppHitz Director Scott Hitz
presents Heather Henson’s Puppet Dreams: a Puppet Film Festival
Sat Nov 5 @ 2:00
$5 / $4 kids 12 & under
The Alloy Orchestra
perform their acclaimed score for the definitive restoration of Fritz Lang’s Metropolis
Sat Nov 5 @ 7:15
$14/$12 students & seniors—advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
Actress Lily Gladstone
introduces & holds a Q&A after Kelly Reichardt’s Certain Women
Sun Nov 6 @ 7:00
Dr. Christopher Clark (Lab of Ornithology)
introduces & holds a Q&A after Sonic Sea
Mon Nov 7 @ 7:00 (Free)
Filmmaker Zhang Ping
presents her doc No Land
Tues Nov 8 @ 5:00 (Free)
as part of The Memory Project (free Chinese food between screenings)
Filmmaker Liu Xiaolei
presents her doc A True Believer
Tues Nov 8 @ 7:15 (Free)
as part of The Memory Project
Filmmaker Zhang Mengq
presents his doc Self-Portrait: Dying at 47 KM
Wed Nov 9 @ 5:00 (Free)
as part of The Memory Project (free Chinese food between screenings)
Filmmaker Wu Wenguang
presents his doc Investigating My Father
Wed Nov 9 @ 7:15 (Free)
as part of The Memory Project
Tenzin Chopak, Peter Dodge & Bill King
perform Chopak’s score to A Page of Madness
Sun Nov 13 @ 2:00
as part of the Ithaca Fantastik

seen previously

Cinema Director Mary Fessenden & Manager Doug McLaren
present An Orientation to Cornell Cinema
Mon Aug 22 @ 7:00 (Free to all)
Cinema Director Mary Fessenden
introduces the Don Fredericksen Memorial Screening of Walkabout
Wed Aug 24 @ 7:00 (Free to new CU students (undergrad, grad & transfer) w/ ID)
Steven Strogatz (CU Mathematics)
introduces and holds a Q&A after The Man Who Knew Infinity
Tues Aug 30 @ 7:15 (Free to ALL CU students)
Larry Jackson ’70 (former studio executive and Welles’ collaborator)
introduces and holds a Q&A after Orson Welles’ Chimes at Midnight
Wed Aug 31 @ 7:15
Composers Michael Gordon & Julia Wolfe (Bang on a Can)
present and discuss scores for their Collaborations with Bill Morrison (archival filmmaker)
Wed Sept 14 @ 7:15
Also, catch them in concert Thur Sept 15 @ 8:00 in Sage Chapel.
Filmmaker Penny Lane
presents NUTS!
Thur Sept 15 @ 7:00
Film scholar Miseong Woo (Yonsei University), East Asia Program’s Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Korean Studies

introduces Under the Sun
Mon Sept 19 @ 7:00
Cornell faculty Chuck Greene (Earth & Atmospheric Sciences), Toby Ault (Earth & Atmospheric Sciences) & Robert Howarth (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology)
participate in a post-screening panel discussion of Time to Choose
Tues Sept 20 @ 7:00
Cornell Faculty Oneka LaBennett, Noliwe Rooks, Samantha Sheppard and Dehanza Rogers
conduct a panel discussion after a screening of Beyoncé’s Lemonade
Thur Sept 22 @ 7:15 (*Free)
*The event is free but one must obtain a ticket in advance from the Willard Straight Resource Center, available starting Mon Sept 19 at 10am
FULL TITLE: The Aesthetics and Style of Race, Gender and Politics: Beyoncé’s Lemonade
Film scholar Miseong Woo (Yonsei University), East Asia Program’s Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Korean Studies

introduces The Lovers and the Despot
Mon Sept 26 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Peter Galison (via Skype)
holds a Q&A after Containment
Tues Sept 27 @ 7:00 (Free)
Film Scholar Olga Gershenson (UMass, Amherst)
presents the recovered Soviet film about the Holocaust, Eastern Corridor
Thur Sept 29 @ 7:00 (Free)
Director Robert Lieberman, producer Deborah Hoard ’78 and editor David Kossack
present their newest film: Angkor Awakens: A Portrait of Cambodia
Mon Oct 3 @ 7:00
The Invincible Czars
perform their original score for F.W. Murnau’s Nosferatu
Thur Oct 13 @ 7:30 in Sage Chapel
$10 / $8 students & seniors—advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
Filmmaker Tia Lessin ’86
presents Citizen Koch
Mon Oct 17 @ 6:45
Producer Tia Lessin ’86
will hold a Q&A after a screening of Michael Moore’s Where to Invade Next
Tues Oct 18 @ 7:00
CU Prof Emeritus Tony Ingraffea (Civil & Environmental Engineering)
holds a Q&A after Before the Flood
Thur Oct 20 @ 4:45 (Free)
Filmmaker Benson Lee (via Skype)
holds a Q&A after Seoul Searching
Mon Oct 24 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Salima Koroma
presents Bad Rap
Tues Oct 25 @ 7:00 (Free)
Jesse McLean
presents her work during An Evening with Media Artist Jesse McLean
Wed Oct 26 @ 7:15
Dr. Philip Carli
provides live piano accompaniment to Fritz Lang’s early silent masterpiece, Destiny
Thur Oct 27 @ 7:00
$10/$8 students & seniors—advance tickets at CornellCinemaTickets.com
Film scholar Miseong Woo (Yonsei University), East Asia Program’s Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Korean Studies

introduces Spirits’ Homecoming
Mon Oct 31 @ 6:15 (Free)
Filmmaker Penelope Spheeris (via Skype)
presents her 1981 breakthrough doc about L.A.’s punk scene: The Decline of Western Civilization with Q & A facilitated by Prof Tom McEnaney (Comp Lit)
Tues Nov 1 @ 7:00