special guests fall 2014

films screen in the Willard Straight Theatre, unless otherwise noted

Prof Ashutosh Saxena (Computer Science)
introduces Robot & Frank
Thur Nov 13 @ 7:15
TRANSIT
performs their live score to Häxan: Witchcraft Through the Ages
Fri Nov 14 @ 7:00 in Sage Chapel • FREE
film introduced by Andrew Utterson, Cornell Institute for European Studies Regional Visiting Fellow and IC film professor
Filmmaker Jim Mickle
discusses his film We Are What We Are via Skype
Sun Nov 16 @ 7:00
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Car Wash
Mon Nov 17 @ 7:15
Filmmaker Marielle Nitoslawska & performance artist Carolee Schneemann
present Breaking the Frame, Nitoslawska’s documentary of Scheemann
Wed Nov 19 @ 7:15
Filmmaker John Curran
discusses his film Tracks via Skype (schedule permitting)
Thur Nov 20 @ 7:00
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Black Dynamite
Mon Dec 1 @ 7:15

previously seen

Cornell Cinema Director Mary Fessenden
presents an Orientation to Cornell Cinema
Mon Aug 25 @ 7:15 • FREE
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner? and Story of a 3-day Pass
Wed Sept 3 @ 7:15
Prof. Charles Van Loan (Computer Science)
introduces The Day the Earth Stood Still
Thur Sept 4 @ 7:00
Prof Mostafa Minawi (History)
introduces Lawrence of Arabia
Wed Sept 10 @ 7:15
Eric Ross and the Avant Ensemble (Trevor Pinch (Cornell) and Peter Rothbart (IC))
provide live electronic music accompaniment for the Eric & Mary Ross Ultimedia Concert
Fri Sept 12 @ 7:00 • $12 general • $10 students and seniors
Tickets available online at cornellcinematickets.com
Sandra Gibson & Luis Recoder
present their live Projection Performance
Wed Sept 17 @ 7:15 • $10 general • $8 students and seniors
Tickets available online at cornellcinematickets.com
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Shaft
Mon Sept 22 @ 7:15
Prof Trevor Pinch (Science & Technology Studies)
introduces Elektro Moskva
Wed Sept 24 @ 7:15
Prof Mostafa Minawi (History)
introduces Gallipoli
Thur Sept 25 @ 7:00
Tracy Mitrano, Director of IT Policy & Institute for Computer Policy and Law at Cornell
introduces & leads a post-screening discussion of The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz
Wed Oct 1 @ 7:15
Filmmaker Anthony Chen
discusses his film Ilo Ilo via Skype
Thur Oct 2 @ 7:00
Prof Walker White (Computer Science)
introduces Robocop
Thur Oct 2 @ 9:45
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Superfly and Black Caesar
Mon Oct 6 @ 7:15
Filmmaker Jonathan Caouette
presents his film Tarnation plus a recent music video
Tues Oct 7 @ 7:15 • FREE
Filmmaker & animator Signe Baumane
presents her film Rocks in My Pockets
Wed Oct 8 @ 7:15
Ellen Avril, Curator of Asian Art at the Johnson Museum
introduces Ai Weiwei: The Fake Case
Thur Oct 9 @ 7:00
Filmmaker Matías Piñeiro
presents his film Viola
Wed Oct 15 @ 7:15
Prof Jeff Cowie (ILR)
introduces Northern Lights
Thur Oct 16 @ 7:00
Prof Walker White (Computer Science)
introduces Ghost in the Shell
Fri Oct 17 @ 9:15
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Coffy and Foxy Brown
Mon Oct 20 @ 7:15
Prof Barbara Correll (English)
introduces Orson Welles’ Othello
Wed Oct 22 @ 7:15
Experimental filmmaker Jodie Mack
gives a live cine-performance in Jodie Mack: Let Your Light Shine
Fri Oct 24 @ 7:15 • $10 general / $8 students and seniors
Tickets available online at cornellcinematickets.com
A panel discussion (participants TBA)
follows a screening of the documentary Farmland
Mon Oct 27 @ 7:15 • FREE
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Cleopatra Jones
Tues Oct 28 @ 7:15
Dennis James
accompanies the classic Expressionist silent The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari on the Sage Chapel Organ with Mark Goldstein on electronic instruments
Thur Oct 30 @ 8:00 in Sage Chapel • FREE
Filmmaker Rami Kimchi
presents his docu-drama The Night of Fools
Mon Nov 3 @ 7:15
TBA
introduces Enter the Dragon
Wed Nov 5 @ 7:15
Filmmaker Jane Gillooly
presents Suitcase of Love and Shame
Thur Nov 6 @ 7:15
The Alloy Orchestra
performs their live score to Metropolis
Fri Nov 7 @ 7:15 • $14 general • $12 students and seniors
Tickets available online at cornellcinematickets.com
plus an introduction to the film by Prof. Ross Knepper (Computer Science)
The Alloy Orchestra
performs their live score to The Lost World
Sat Nov 8 @ 2:00 • $7 general • $5 kids 12 & under
Tickets available online at cornellcinematickets.com
The Alloy Orchestra
performs their live score to The Son of the Sheik starring Rudolph Valentino
Sat Nov 8 @ 7:15 • $12 general • $10 students and seniors
Tickets available online at cornellcinematickets.com
Prof Cheryl Finley (History of Art & Visual Studies)
introduces Claudine
Mon Nov 10 @ 7:15
Filmmaker Dominic Gagnon
presents his prize-winning film, Hoax Canular
Tues Nov 11 @ 7:15 (free)
Filmmaker Jeremy Workman
discusses his film Magical Universe via Skype
Wed Nov 12 @ 7:15